Using Pinterest for Work and Play

A few weeks ago I started seeing Pinterest pins showing up in my Facebook feed. I soon began hearing that it’s a huge time waster, so I wasn’t really interested in getting involved in it. But for the web 2.0 course I thought I’d give it a try.

I’m hooked. Yes, I knew this would happen. I’m finding all these amazing photos about home decorating, cooking, traveling, and painting my nails. And I won’t even get into the images I pinned of Gerard Butler! Ummm, yeah.

Pinterest is currently blocked in my district, so I’m not sure that it’s use is even a possibility any time soon. However, I could see teachers and students using it as an organizational tool as part of their research. They could create boards for their ancient civilization, or author study, or science project. Perhaps open access is on the horizon.

As a writer, the images are awe-inspiring. I could imagine using the images I pinned to help me describe a scene, the color and textures of an Irish cottage, or even a strong, handsome, male character….named Gerry.

Pinterest will be fund to continue exploring, but it is definitely a huge time-sucker.

Now where was I????

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Using Pinterest for Work and Play

  1. Evan

    Lovely post. Of course it is a fine debate, whether Pinterest is a time-waster or a time-saver. The way I look at it, the more images that I pin during open engaged browsing sessions, and thoughtfully organize and tag my pins, to me that means the more images I have ready to go should I need some on short notice for a presentation or a project. It means I don’t have that last minute anxiety of scrambling for just the right image, if I have a rich well organized library to draw from.

    I love your plans to use Pinterest from a writer’s perspective–that’s a great idea. Here are a few additional Pinterest resources that might be of (p)interest:

    “17 Ways For Writers To Use Pinterest”
    http://storyaday.org/pinterest-for-writers/

    “How Educators Use Pinterest for Curation”
    http://mindshift.kqed.org/2012/03/how-educators-use-pinterest-for-curation/

    “Pinterest: Teacher Ideas”

    “37 Ways Teachers Should Use Pinterest”
    http://www.fluency21.com/blogpost.cfm?blogID=2559

    “20 Ways Libraries Are Using Pinterest Right Now”
    http://edudemic.com/2012/03/20-ways-libraries-are-using-pinterest-right-now/

    Happy pinning, best of luck.

  2. Thanks for the great resources, Evan. I will definitely be checking these out!

  3. I have also been using Pinterest mostly for travel destinations! If you are really interested in certain subjects, it is really a creative way to bring them all into one location. I, as most of us do I’m sure, feel your pain at everything being blocked in our districts. It’s the one frustrating part of learning all of these great tools – the struggle of justifying them to the “network gods”.

Leave a Reply

