An Interview with one of My Antagonists

In today’s lesson Teachers Write on Kate Messner’s blog, author Tracey Baptiste explores Voice. Two of the exercises have us become one of our characters and answer interview questions, and then flip the switch and become the opposite of that character and answer the same questions. Here is what I wrote as a result.

 

Exercise 2: Becoming Your Character

I love my country more than anything else. I hate anyone who makes me out to be anti-American, or not loyal to my country. I am jealous of anyone who has a higher status than I do. If I could do anything, I would convince my husband to ask for a promotion at work, so we could buy a nicer home. My biggest secret is that my mother hated this country. She never wanted to leave Germany, and so she never learned to speak English. I was teased by other children because of her; Therefore I did not love her.

Exercise 3: Flip the Switch

I love my family more than anything else. I hate when people are teased or called out for being Anti-American, when they have given their whole lives to pulling their own weight in America and building a life their ancestors would be proud of. I’m jealous of women who can have more children. If I could do anything, I would have my husband take more vacation time so we could go to the shore.

These exercises helped in that I was totally surprised by Mrs. Schmidt’s biggest secret. I had no idea!

Try these exercises and see what your characters reveal to you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Inspiration, Writing

Leave a Reply

